Silence and Solitude

I’ve been realizing lately just how much I seek out distraction. I regularly complain about how busy I am and how I wish I had time to reflect and process what’s going on in my life. However, when I finally get that time, I quickly fill it with distraction- Facebook, Netflix, or another mind-numbing drug of choice. Sometimes facing what’s going on inside is just too hard. I’m scared of what I’ll find if I truly stop and listen to what my soul is telling me.

I think that this is one of the greatest blind spots of our culture currently. Technology has created the ability for unceasing distraction from all of the things we don’t want to face. In a moment we can call, Skype, text, or FaceTime a friend so that we never have to be alone. We can find out anything we want to know in seconds via the internet. And if our own lives feel too depressing, we can get lost in another world for hours binge watching a show on Netflix. Sometimes escapism is so much easier than facing what’s really going on inside of us.

However, I’m learning just how much my soul needs silence and solitude. I need time alone with just myself and God to remember who I am and how God sees me. In silence and solitude I realize just how much I need God and how I’ve been trying to satisfy myself with everything but him.

The cure for my restless, anxious heart isn’t escapism and distraction, but rather engagement with God in the quiet place.

Leave a Reply

